One of my Favorites! Dairy Free Cream of Asparagus and Roasted Pepper Soup

Don’t get me wrong, I love cream soups made in the traditional fashion, lots of heavy cream and whole milk with virtually no water. it would seem that the A bunch of asparagus on a green backgroundreoccurring theme in my gastronomic journey since culinary school (A multitude of eons ago) has been sauces, soups and the like. Speaking of which, check out my next article on How to Make Flavored Syrup! I think you will like it.

My wife has shared this love with me until recently when we discovered she had become lactose intolerant.(Dang.)
Needless to say, me being the wonderful man and husband that I am, I began to experiment with dairy free alternatives. The following is to date, our favorite. Enjoy!

  • We start with 1 lb of asparagus, washed and cut into 2 inch pieces.
  • 3-5 cloves of garlic, to taste.(I use a lot)
  • 1 large bell pepper of choice, or 3-4 baby ones of different color. (This is my choice, as I like the flavors and visual appeal.)
  • 16 oz Organic low sodium chicken stock
  • 32 oz unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup clarified butter or olive oil
  1. Ok, first you must cut the pepper (or peppers) in half and remove the seeds, then roast under the broiler until the skin starts to char and bubble. Pull them out and place immediately into a bowl and cover with plastic wrap for 5- 10 min. so the skins will loosen the rest of the way. Then simply remove what you can of the skins, you may not be able to get it all but that’s ok. Then you will need to cut them into litte peppery bites of love.
  2. Now get two pans, one for the soup and one to preheat the liquid ingredients. Add 2 Tbsp. olive oil, the asparagus and the sliced or diced garlic into the first one, and all of the liquids into the other. Fire them up! Heat the liquids, while being careful not to scorch them and saute’ the yum yums in the other pan until slightly caramelized.
  3. Add the olive oil/ clarified butter and flour to the asparagus, stir it in well and cook for 5-10 minutes. Then toss the peppers in too, they are lonely!
  4. Slowly add the liquid to the flour mixture(roux) stirring constantly until mixed well and thickening. You can then use a potato masher to crush up the asparagus and pepper if you like.
  5. Add salt and pepper to taste…
  6. Commence to salivating!!
  7. Check out the next articles in this series!

2 thoughts on “One of my Favorites! Dairy Free Cream of Asparagus and Roasted Pepper Soup

Leave a Reply

